The iconic limestone lion gates at the west end of University Park were a gift of the Class of 1903 and initially stood at the intersection of Atherton Street and Pollock Road.

In 2002, the 50,000-pound pillars were moved one block over, to the intersection of Pollock and Burrowes roads, to be the entryway to the West Campus expansion and the new Information Sciences and Technology Building.