Board of Trustees Election 2013

DSC_6256 med view

PLEASE NOTE: This is the “Three Questions” site from the 2012 Board of Trustees election. For the 2014 site, please go to It will be live on or before April 3, 2014.

With 39 candidates for the three open alumni seats on the Board of Trustees and such high interest in this year’s election, we think it’s important to give alumni a way to learn how the candidates stand on some of the important issues Penn State faces. So we asked three questions of each of the candidates:

1.  What should Penn State be looking for in its next president?

2.  What changes or reforms should the Board of Trustees consider to help the university progress after the events of 2011 and 2012? Please explain why—or, if you don’t think reform is needed, please explain why not.

3.  How do you define the role of an alumni trustee, and how would that inform the way you would approach your term on the board?

Thirty-seven of the candidates responded. You can find their answers to the questions—along with additional biographical information and links to both the candidates’ official position statements—by clicking on the candidates’ names below. (They are listed in ballot order.) You can also browse responses by question by clicking on each of the questions above.

We’ve also got links to social media sites for each candidate who provided them. Keep in mind that for Facebook and LinkedIn sites, you may need to be logged in yourself to get to a candidate’s page.

Voting starts Wednesday, April 10, and runs through 9 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time Thursday, May 2.  Alumni Association members and anyone who has donated to the Penn State Fund within the past two years should receive an email with voting credentials. To request a voting link, contact the Board of Trustees Office at and provide your full name (at time of graduation), year of graduation, college/major, current mailing address, and current email address.

1. Kathleen A. Pavelko

2. Pratima Gatehouse

3. Eugene J. Bella

4. Paul V. Suhey

5. Thomas A. Conley

6. John W. Diercks

7. Edward B. “Ted” Brown

8. Rudolph K. Glocker

9. Christopher J. Bartnik

10. Vincent J. Tedesco

11. William J. Cluck

12. Stephanie Nolan Deviney

13. John M. Mason Jr.

14. Robert Bowsher

15. Doreen Ulichney Schivley

16. J. Andrew Weidman

17. Ben J. Novak

18. O. Richard Bundy

19. Matthew A. Bird

20. Frederik O. Riefkohl

21. Mark S. Connolly

22. Barbara L. Doran

23. Darlene R. Baker

24. Robert J. Hooper

25. Amy L. Williams

26. Robert N. Grimes

27. Jeffrey N. Goldsmith

28. David K. Mullaly

29. Robert P. McKinnon

30. Ted J. Sebastianelli

31. Christopher R. Owens

32. Gregory A. Slachta

33. Charles R. Mazzitti

34. Gregory S. “Sandy” Sanderson

35. Robert C. Jubelirer

36. William F. Oldsey

37. Patrick J. Howley

38. Ryan M. Bagwell

39. Scott T. Kimler

3 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

%d bloggers like this: